Hosting question?

Anything related to web developing
kilo watt
Level 5

Hosting question?

Post by kilo watt » May 18th, 2008, 12:00 am

So I'm new to all this domain registering / hosting stuff. And today I've registered my first domain name. The site I thought was going to host it (same site I registered it from), is not going to unless I do the 9.95/mo fee. So if I refuse to let them Host my site, am I even going to be able to run it at all? I believe I'd need a server in order to do so, but I haven't gotten this far in college yet, so I really don't know.
3rd Infantry Division

Kupo!
Level 6

Re: Hosting question?

Post by Kupo! » May 18th, 2008, 1:50 am

you just need a webhost, and the ability to change your nameservers (which you should have - log in and see if you can change them).

If you want really cheap hosting and don't need a ton of space, check out hole in the wall hosting (http://www.holeinthewallhosting.com). Only $10/year and you get 400 meg and plenty of bandwidth/etc. Sign up, they will send you the info, and change your nameservers, get an FTP client, and you are in business.

Have fun!

kilo watt
Level 5

Post by kilo watt » May 18th, 2008, 2:40 am

I have an FTP an such, Right now I think I'm waiting for paypal to do it's payment clearing thing. And after that I'll have the site.. So after payment is complete, I should receive account info right? or am I missing something here. When you say nameserver, that goes beyond my knowledge of hosting I'm afraid. I did not have to register in order to get the domain name.
3rd Infantry Division

Kupo!
Level 6

Post by Kupo! » May 18th, 2008, 11:15 am